My Favorite People

My Favorite People-The Sister

My sister and I are not alike at all and are also more alike than we think. Confusing? Yes.

Looking back I remember thinking that we would hate each other and fight with each other forever. I am pleased to say that we are actually great friends. In fact, other than C.J., she is probably one of my best friends. She has always been there for me, and I love her to pieces.

photo 1

There are four years between us, and when we were younger we fought with each other ALL OF THE TIME. I was bossy, she had a tendency to be manipulative, and we both had tempers. She was the baby for the longest time and used that to her advantage–I don’t blame her.

In all reality, we probably fought all the time because we spent so much time together. We went to a small, private school, lived 15 miles out of town, and were only allowed a short amount of time in front of the TV or computer. We thought life was rough, but I appreciate all of our parent’s strict rules now.

We played together all the time. We built playhouses in-between the trees in the yard with the big rocks and sticks we would find around our parent’s property. My mom and dad never knew what would end up in the yard. We would frequently “relocate” and “redesign” our playhouses, transporting everything to the new location with our little red wagon (metal-not plastic).

We had a great childhood and then when we became teenagers, and we drifted apart and continued to fight. I regret not getting to know her better during those times, but we probably needed the space. She hated being “Paxton’s Younger Sister”, and as expected she escaped from that cloud and made her own path.

I am so proud of her and everything she has already accomplished.

She is now in college, studying towards being a surgeon. She is funny, talented, and so determined. She might be my younger sister, but I look up to her. She has stole the hearts of the people around her and has adapted to college life so gracefully. She is one of a kind and she doesn’t let anyone forget that.

She stands up for herself and those she loves and doesn’t care if she steps on toes along the way. I am envious of this quality. I can’t wait to see what the future brings for this wonderful girl!

She is ALWAYS willing to help me out. I think it weird for us, her being in college, and me being married, but this last year has been such a good one for us. We spend a lot of time together and I wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

530484_1439199126302078_1982276206_n

She gave an outstanding toast at my elopement celebration. The room was roaring with laughter and she even brought some tears. She is the best!

IMG_5844

Here is to you, my dear sister, I love you to infinity and beyond and can’t imagine life without you!

photo 2

2 thoughts on “My Favorite People-The Sister

Leave a Reply

