Recipes

Broccoli Cheddar Soup Recipe

Broccoli and cheddar soup is one of my favorite soups. I almost always order it when I am at Panera or McAlester’s. It doesn’t matter what time of day or year it is–I can always go for a bowl of this yummy soup.

I have been on the search for a yummy broccoli and cheddar soup recipe that is both delicious and somewhat healthy. I have come across different mixes that require condensed milk and velveeta, but I wanted something less processed.

Finally, I think I have found my go-to broccoli and cheddar soup recipe!

It is super easy, but does take a bout an hour or so to make. I wouldn’t call it a “Copy-Cat” Panera broccoli and cheddar soup, but it is delicious and if you make it at home you can get “free” refills. That has to count for something.

broccoli and cheddar soup

Ingredients

  • 2 bunches broccoli; cut into small florets
  • 1/2 medium onion; chopped
  • 2 carrots; julienned (about 1 cup)
  • 1/4 cup butter; melted
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups half and half
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 8 oz sharp cheddar cheese; shredded or cubed
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Saute onion in 1 tbsp of melted butter until transparent.
  2. In a separate pot, make a roux using remainder of melted butter and 1/4 cup flour. Cook approx. 5 minutes over medium heat, stirring constantly with a whisk.
  3. Slowly add in half and half, continue stirring.
  4. Add in chicken stock, stir and let simmer for 20 minutes.
  5. Add in broccoli florets, carrots and sauteed onions. Let cook for another 25 minutes over low heat.
  6. Stir in cheese until melted, add nutmeg and salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

IMG_5984

Leave a Reply

