Misc.

Morning Routine Vol. 1

With such a busy semester ahead of me, it has become important to me to start making a habit of a morning routine. Now, I am going to be the first to tell you that some mornings I decide to sleep a little extra instead of getting up, but the most important part of this time is that it is mine and I get to decide what I do with it.

I wake up before C.J. does, let the dogs outside, and enjoy the peace and quiet…all by myself. My mom used to do this in the mornings, and I never underwood why she would get so cranky when someone disturbed “her time”. I understand now.

Mom, I am sorry for disturbing your morning alone time.

This time is incredibly important to my sanity throughout the day. I can definitely tell a difference in my attitude and energy if I give myself this time in the mornings.

IMG_6060

1. Cup of tea or hot chocolate. I am not a coffee drinker, but I usually want something warm and delicious when I wake up. This hot chocolate mix recipe is perfect. Sometimes I want something less sweet-on those mornings I choose english breakfast tea. My favorite brand at the moment is Twinings.

2. Emily Post’s Everyday Etiquette-How to Handle the Top Manners Dilemmas.  This book by Peggy Post covers all of the basic etiquette rules and more. It is a perfect “go-to” book on the appropriate actions to take in many different situations. It is divided into 1-2 page sections and I try to read one each morning.

You can find the book here.

3. Yoga. I don’t exercise every morning, but my day is better when I do. There are several yoga series on Hulu+ and online as well. This is one of my favorite series.

4. Water. Everyone is always saying to “Stay hydrated” and it is really important. I found this glass water bottle from Target a few weeks ago and absolutely love it. I HATE drinking out of plastic. This water bottle is perfect. C.J. and I both got one and we fill them up at night, stick them in the refrigerator, and they are ready to go in the morning!

You can find them here.

Do you have a morning routine?

Leave a Reply

