Guest Posts · Inspiration

Guest Post-Count Your Blessings

Untitled

When was the last time you stopped to count your blessings?  Or to say “thank you” for all the good things you’ve been given in your life?  Was it back in November when you joined the social media crowd for the “30 Days of Things of I’m Thankful For” project?  Or did you just roll your eyes as that band wagon rolled past?  Yes, I was in the eye-rolling group – I thought then, as I do now, that you should count your blessings any day/any time you want to, not just when the crowd says you should.  Did I always do so?  Umm…not so much.

Admittedly, I used to be one of those people who didn’t always stop to recognize the good things, much less be thankful I had them.  It’s easier to get caught up in the bad things or the stuff that didn’t go exactly how you planned.  I seem to especially fall in this trap – after all I am a detail-oriented, organized person; I have my plan and bulleted list and I want things to go accordingly, when they don’t, well, cue the stress test…

But, at the start of 2014, I made a resolution (if you want to call it that) to say “thank you” and to count my blessings each day.  That’s each and every day, not just when I remembered or when I had a particularly good day.  And, I am happy to report that as of today, I have stuck with my project.  True, some days (typically the ones that haven’t gone as planned or turned off “bad” in some way), I use the “mundane” things – health, family, friends, job, home, etc – but even those “mundane” things are things that someone somewhere would likely give their last penny to have.

And, no, I’m not saying my days are all sunshine and roses since I’ve started this little exercise.   But, you know what?  I have noticed that it’s a lot easier to scrape my gray skies clean on the less than stellar days.  That it’s a lot easier to have a positive outlook, whether the day is good or bad or mediocre, when I’ve stopped to really consider the blessings I’ve been given.   And, I can attest that finding the positives each and every day makes it so much easier to shake off the stress, worry, sorrow, despair, misery, etc.,  that life can and will throw at you.

So, what’s my point?  Well, I’d like to challenge you to take the time to count your blessings each day, to say “thank you” for every day.  I write my “good” down in a journal, but you don’t even have to go that far; just take a few minutes to stop and focus on the good, to really appreciate all you’ve been given, to say thank you.  You may be surprised how much this simple act can affect your outlook.

If you find need something to help spur you on, ask yourself this:  “If all I will have tomorrow are the things I say thank you for today, will I be happy with what is left?  Will anything be left?”  If not, maybe it’s time to take a recount.

C

***

Today’s blog post was brought to you by C at Sugared Confections. I encourage you to check out her blog and the wonderful and sweet creations she makes!

Sugared Confections has also been featured on this blog before, if you missed it you can find it here.

A big thank you to C for contributing to the blog!

Leave a Reply

