Misc.

Dealing With Bad Days

Some days are just completely awful. You wake up late, your hair looks like Chewbacca, you leave your coffee on top of the car, you can’t find a parking spot, you make a horrible grade, you forgot your wallet, you step in a semi-frozen puddle while wearing flats, you have a flat tire, you burn dinner, you get rejected from the job you applied for…etc.

Some days cannot end soon enough.

A few weeks ago I had a terrible day and it got me to start thinking about how I deal with bad days and if it is healthy. I grew up being told not to cry because it doesn’t do you any favors. I personally disagree with this.

Crying might not be productive and it might make your eyes hurt, but every once in a while it is perfectly ok to cry things out. I am the type of person who will give 210% and when that 210% gets rejected or somehow fails, it hits me like a ton of bricks.

On days like this it is easy to sit and feel sorry for yourself. I do not think that is healthy. However, I do believe that you are allowed a bit of personal “grief time”.

What do I do?

If I am not at home, I wait to deal with things in private at home. I have never been a fan of public pity parties, but you are allowed to throw yourself a party at home.

Everyone is going to “heal” differently, but the key is to cheer up. Here is what usually works for me…

Grab a cold glass of water, run a hot bath, and enjoy that bath while watching Netflix or Hulu on my laptop or iPad. (be sure to get creative with the technology-don’t want that in the bathtub)

After enjoying the bath, I put on some very comfy pajamas, make a cup of hot chocolate or hot tea, snuggle up with C.J. (if he is around), and watch one of my favorite movies.

Sometimes I throw some sort of comfort food into the mix…it just depends on the day.

This routine works for me because my biggest disappointments typically follow a period of high pressure, lots of work, and intense stress. It is good for me to relax and rest my mind for an evening.

After an evening like this, a fantastic nights rest, and some good face moisturizer, I am ready to get back out there.

You can’t tuck away your bad days into box, because sooner or later that box will get full and then you won’t know what to do. By handling the bad days as they come you can get them out of the way so that you can move on.

So…not that my opinion matters, but I am hereby giving you permission to cry and to relax. Throw yourself an at home pity party, but then wake up the next morning ready to conquer the world.

What do you do to feel better on bad days?

 

2ea404229d201b391b45963cbcc398a8

Leave a Reply

