Helpful Hints

Helpful Hint-Baking Soda

The scene:  You are cleaning the garage and something in a mysterious bottle spills on you and starts burning. Is there a way to neutralize the burn while you call Poison Control or research the liquid?

8fb3f950ad53a5f6c06ed2eca6eceeb1

The answer is yes! If you spill an acid on you, just make a slurry out of baking soda and water, apply to the affected area, let sit, and then rinse off. I found this out in my jewelry and metals class. I am here to tell you that it works very well…as I experienced a minor splash of acid on my foot. A second observation:  should not have been wearing flats. Oops.

My foot was fine after I applied the baking soda, and I was extremely excited to find this very helpful chart! Who knew that baking soda could be used for so many different things?

What do you use baking soda for?

Please note that I am not a doctor and that if you do spill something on you that you should call Poison Control or possibly your doctor. Baking Soda might not work. Use your common sense. 

Leave a Reply

