Recipes

Butter and Garlic Pasta with Spinach Recipe

A week or so ago I got home from a conference that my office hosts for students across the state. It was an intense couple of days with little sleep and I returned home completely exhausted. C.J. was out of town and I immediately went to take a nap.

Naps usually make me cranky, but I needed this one. I woke up around 7:30 pm…yes, I took an evening nap. Shame on me.

I sat down on the couch, still in my tired daze and watched a show on hulu and ate a few little chocolates I had picked up in Tulsa that afternoon. I was completely unproductive the rest of the evening but around 11 or so I realized that I needed to eat something. Ice cream came to mind, but that would not have been very responsible. I had already taken the evening nap, so I was treading on thin ice in the “responsible” category.

Not wanting to get out and eat fast food, I went to the the kitchen. No leftovers. I pondered what I cook whip up relatively quickly without getting into the groceries set aside for the already planned meals. I had some uncooked pasta left over from a recent recipe and we almost always have frozen spinach in the freezer.

The rest of the ingredients? Garlic, butter, lemon juice, and salt. I can’t think of a time that I allowed the house to be without these items.

This recipe is for 1-2 people, adjust the ingredients as needed. I also believe that I made all of this in about 7-10 minutes.

photo

Ingredients

  • 2 cups uncooked pasta
  • 1/2 cup frozen spinach (feel free to use more or less)
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • Salt to taste
  • Mozzarella (optional)

Instructions

  1. Add water to a small pot and heat to boiling. Salt water.
  2. Add pasta and spinach. Turn heat down to medium or medium low and cover pot.
  3. When pasta is tender spinach is cooked, drain in colander. Spinach retains a lot of water, so be sure to squeeze the water out of it.
  4. Add butter, garlic, salt, and lemon juice. Mix, let butter melt, and season to taste.
  5. Serve with mozzarella on top, if desired.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

