Misc.

Update 4

I have been waiting to post this update for many reasons, but I have decided…why not now?

I have started a new job teaching art at two Oklahoma City elementary schools. I absolutely love my job. We have been in school for two weeks now and I am quickly figuring out the ropes.

Due to the certification process in Oklahoma, the start of my school year was a tad bit unusual, but it is working out. I was able to set up both of my classrooms a couple days before school started…so they are not perfect just yet. I would have loved for them to be set up and awesome looking for the first day of school, but that is not what is important.

A big big thanks to my wonderful husband for helping me move tables, sort supplies, and just being supportive during a time when I felt more overwhelmed than I have ever felt before.

I was excited to start school, but so extremely nervous.

School started and the first week went great. I am at one school Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday mornings and then I transfer to the other school for Wednesday afternoons, Thursdays, and Fridays. The commute and two different classrooms are a bit of a challenge, but it keeps things lively. I don’t think I will be getting bored anytime soon.

I love both schools, and I find myself missing the students from one school when I am at the other. I had no idea that I would enjoy this job this much. I did not think that it was possible to enjoy a job this much. I am glad it is.

Between the two schools, I have 35 art classes, 2 classrooms, and a little over 800 students. That sounds like a ton of classes and students but the classes are 35 minutes at one school and 40 at the other, so it really isn’t too bad.

Each week I choose an “Artist of the Week” from each class. These students are the ones in class following directions and working their hardest. It is not about who can draw the best, but who is trying.

I really feel that art can benefit students of all ages and it saddens me that the importance of art is not always realized.

This job leaves me completely exhausted at the end of each day, I find myself with a completely new appreciation for the weekend, and I spend the majority of my “free” time going through drawings and projects, but I have truly enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see what is in store with this new and exciting journey.

Leave a Reply

