Teaching

Art Teacher, Vol. 1

I have officially completed a month of teaching elementary art!

I can’t believe that 4 weeks have already come and gone. I am also very thankful for this wonderful 3 day weekend.

Teaching is everything I hoped for and so much more than I expected. I knew that I would be exhausted each day, but I must say that I wasn’t expecting complete exhaustion to hit me everyday when the 3:05 bell rings. I was given some “new teacher” books to read and was told that they make good reading material for “when you can’t sleep.” So far that has not been a problem. I sleep very well…every night.

I am really enjoying this new adventure. While I don’t expect to stay in an elementary school setting forever, I do enjoy the students and the different skill levels that come with the different ages.

It is not all sunshine and cupcakes. I broke up a fight this last week and had to send my first two referrals to the office. It was heart breaking. I wanted to get in my car, speed through my commute, and hide away in my bed. However, each day is a new day.

One teacher gave me some advice, she told me not to take things too seriously and not to let a bad day wear me down. She said that she makes each week a personal game (she is the PE teacher). If she has a bad day on Monday, it is Kids: 1 Teacher: 0…and she tries to come out on top by the end of the week.

Teaching over 800 students each week is a huge challenge. I struggle with the fact that I don’t know all of their names and might not get to know something about each student. I am trying though.

Overall, it has been a great month. During these last four weeks I have learned so many new things, met many helpful people, gained confidence in myself, and accomplished a few personal goals. The most exciting word of these last four weeks has been “official.” I am planning on taking advantage of Labor Day weekend to catch up on some sleep, finish a few house projects, spend time with my wonderful husband, and get ready for another month of teaching¬†adventures.

There are many perks to teaching elementary students, and kind notes are definitely at the top of the list.

IMG_7411 IMG_7435

IMG_7440

2 thoughts on “Art Teacher, Vol. 1

Leave a Reply

