Misc.

Just an Update

Wow! Life has been crazy busy around our house. It is that time of year though. I love fall, it is definitely my favorite season.

You can start wearing fun clothes…sweaters, scarves, boots…

You don’t sweat within the first five minutes of being outside. (Oklahoma summers….)

Don’t get me wrong, I will miss fresh watermelon and peaches, flowers, and summer events, but nothing compares to fall.

A lot of my favorite events happen in the fall…fall break (less than two weeks away!), my birthday, our wedding anniversary, and Thanksgiving.

The last three events will happen within the same week this year. It will be a wonderful 7 days.

What have the Cavins been up to?

Well….

School.

I have been teaching away and it has had its ups and downs. Mostly ups. The students are picking up on the lessons and are creating some great work. I am getting more involved with different committees and even making some teacher friends.

I am constantly thankful that I am no longer working to pay all of my bills and going to school full time. It is wonderful to just be doing one of the two.

With that being said I am so excited about fall break. We get two weeks…and I am counting down! I love my job. It is a true blessing to never feel like I am “working” because I really do love what I do. I am however ready for a break.

News flash:  Teaching is exhausting. I have been told by veteran teachers that I will adjust…but it isn’t happening soon enough for me. I am completely exhausted everyday by 4 PM and it is usually a challenge to keep my eyes open between the hours of 9 and 10 PM. I am ready to not be so tired all of the time.

I am looking forward to working on some art. I did do some painting this last week and it felt so exhilarating to get back into the studio. Fall break is going to be filled with some studio hours.

Finally, I love my students. They are all good kids and I imagine that I will miss them during fall break….but the last couple of weeks have been rough. I had a student throw chairs across my room. I got punched in the stomach while breaking up a fight. And I am starting to lose patience with the tween attitude.

Just like everything else in life, teaching art to 800 students comes with a plethora of pros and a few cons. I can’t wait to go to work tomorrow, but I also can’t wait to enjoy 14 days of fall intersession.

Art.

My series of sixteen patterned panels was recently accepted into Momentum Tulsa! Very exciting news…I dropped the pieces off today and the opening is this Friday. I am happy to be “back” in the artist world and am hoping to have a better balance of artist and art teacher time.

There is also a new piece in the series…

10410553_10203071150565366_827777873339176657_n

1604773_10203075310629365_7097153269050913178_n

Projects.

Like always, C.J. and I always have several different projects going on. Between design work, house projects, and favors for family/friends we have stayed pretty busy while at home.

We are starting to take advantage of our weekends though. I think we both have realized that we need a little bit of a break from work, extra projects, and house chores. Whether it is going out for the afternoon, taking a nap, walking the dogs, or watching a movie together the weekends have become “us time”.

Church.

We recently became members of a church. I will be the first to admit that during college my church attendance was lacking. Excuses could include not being able to find the right church, enjoying an extra day off from school, having to work…etc….the list could go on and on.

When we moved we knew that we wanted to start attending church again.

C.J. and I are so happy to be in a church family again. I was a bit hesitant at first, but it has been wonderful. It is also great to be doing all of this together, as a couple. I am looking forward to all the awesome things that come from this decision.

1385552_10203038074778492_5485614543797838949_n


Really there isn’t much of an update on us…we are just doing our thing and staying busy. Nothing too exciting.

However, we are pretty bad at keeping people in the loop, so this is an attempt to do so.

Have a wonderful evening and a great rest of your week!

One thought on “Just an Update

Leave a Reply

