Helpful Hints · Inspiration

Mountain Ring

I apologize for just now getting back on the blog-it’s been a busy couple of weeks. I didn’t forget, just didn’t make time. My students had an art show, the first one at our school, and it was a TON of work to put together….but incredibly worth it. I love those kids.

Anyways…today I received a mountain ring I ordered a couple of weeks ago. I ordered it after I heard a song and a sermon that really stuck with me. The song is Trust in You by Lauren Daigle. It instantaneously resonated with me, especially the lyrics of  ” When you don’t move the mountains I’m needing You to move” followed by “I will trust in You”.

Everyone has things that they need to accomplish. I have a whole long list of mountains I want moved:  things to accomplish, things to change, things to happen. From praying gracefully and quietly before bed to crying out in tears I can recall each time I called out to the Lord to move my mountains and nothing happened. But God doesn’t not answer prayers. Every prayer is answered in His time…that’s where my copious amount of impatience gets in the way of things. I want mountains moved on my time table, even though His way is perfection. To help clarify things the song says: “There’s not a day ahead You have not seen”.

The same day that I heard this song for the first time, our pastor preached a Wednesday night Bible study on trusting in God and having faith in His timing. I downloaded the song that night and try to listen to it everyday. I need a constant reminder to trust in God’s timing.

If my mountains aren’t moving at my pace that doesn’t mean that they will never move. I have to keep my head up, my smile on, and have faith that things will happen in perfect timing. 

So, I bought a mountain ring. I spent about a week online searching for the right one, that I could wear everyday and that would help remind me of God’s faithfulness and perfect timing. Now when I am feeling down and forgotten, when my mountains are big and in the way, I can  glance down at my hand and get a friendly reminder.

Lamentations 3:25-26: 

 “The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,  to the one who seeks him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.”

IMG_1934

 

Leave a Reply

