Recipes

Apricot Roast

 

I have made roast twice…I have eaten roast twice since leaving my parent’s home.

The first time that I made roast was while C.J. and I were living in Stillwater in the most adorable apartment. This was before I started cooking a lot and it might have been one of the first few meals that I had ever made for him.

We ended up in the ER. 

I had it all planned out. I was going to put the roast in the crockpot when I left for class and it would be ready to go when we got home for the day. So…that morning, I got up a little early to get the roast ready to go. It wasn’t completely thawed….so I decided to wait until after class.

When I got home around lunchtime I prepared the roast. It seemed pretty much thawed out. Trying to make up for lost time I decided to turn the crockpot to the “high” setting. I went to work, excited to come home to a great smelling house and yummy roast.

The house smelled great and the roast looked pretty much normal. I cut into it and it seemed really tough….but we tried it anyways. It was a little boot-like…but it tasted “ok”.

Long story short…a piece of the roast got lodged into C.J.’s throat. He could still breathe and talk, but the roast was not going anywhere…so off to the emergency room we went.

The jokes have not stopped…for almost 4 years I have been at the end of any kind of “roast” joke.

Well…I finally mustered up the courage to make roast again…and it did not disappoint. 

C.J. ate everything on his plate and had seconds. His sister, who hates roast, tried some and also loved it.

Success!

IMG_8987

 

Ingredients

  • 1 beef eye round roast (2-3 pounds)
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 4 onions, quartered
  • 1 cup apricot jam
  • 4 oz pineapple juice
  • Whole peppercorns

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. In a small bowl combine salt, pepper, paprika, and chili powder. Use as a rub and season the roast. Place roast fat side down in a baking dish.
  3. In a bowl, mix together the apricot jam and the pineapple juice. Pour over the roast. Scatter onions on and around roast. Add 1/2 cup water if needed. Sprinkle with whole peppercorns.
  4. Cover the roast with foil and cook for 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 hours. Remove from oven when temperature of meat reaches 135 degrees.
  5. Let roast rest for 20-30 minutes. Final temperature should be 145 degrees. While resting, occasionally use a spoon to pour juices over the top of the roast.
  6. Slice and serve with juices.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

