Recipes

Cold Brew Coffee

My newest obsession? Cold brew coffee.

Until recently I have been shelling out my money to coffee shops for their delicious cold brew, often finding out that they are “currently out” of the liquid gold. Every time Ollie and I would get out to run errands, I would plan a trip to get my fix.

After some thought and a look at how much all of the coffee shop stops were costing me, I started looking into making my own cold brew at home. My Aunt C has been making it for a while, so I sought out her advice first. She assured me that it was not difficult to make, the most time consuming part being straining the grounds from the coffee.

I then took to the internet and looked into the most popular methods and ratios for making cold brew. I found a common ratio that everyone seemed to enjoy and then decided to go the easy route and buy a fine holed strainer (that is probably not the way to describe what I bought).

Anyways, it turns out that the hardest part is waiting for cold brew to “brew”. My first batch brewed for approximately 12 hours. The second batch around 24 hours before straining.

The first batch was more of an experiment and I have sense made adjustments, mainly a much bigger container so that I can make more coffee at one time.

Also – there is something about this process that fondly reminds me of when my sister and I would build outdoor playhouses (our absolute favorite childhood activity) and play “house”, although we called it “friends” because we were usually either roommates or neighbors. We would usually mix up our coffee with dirt and water…and it vaguely looked like the beginning stages of cold brew.

Stay tuned for a delicious homemade coffee creamer!

-Mrs. Cavin


INGREDIENTS
  • Water
  • Ground coffee
  • Jar or container
  • Fine mesh strainer
  • Measuring cup
INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Using a 4:1 ratio, combine your desired amounts of water and coffee. Set in the refridgerator for 12 hours or up to 24 hours. The next day, stir lightly and pour through a fine mesh strainer into a clean container. Store in the fridge.
  2. To serve, pour over ice and add desired sweetener or cream.

Enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “Cold Brew Coffee

Leave a Reply

